Greyhound Tattoos

My fantasy novel:

Buy for Kindle
Buy for Nook

I’m going to take a brief break from my current series to babble on a bit about what I did this weekend, which was finish a Greyhound tattoo design for my friend Carol.

The first Greyhound tattoo I designed is shown below (click the image to see the full design). I created it several years ago, based on a henna design I used to do at Greyhound events.

Here’s what Carol’s tattoo artist did with it as an armband (click to see the whole picture):

Pretty nice, huh? I love the color he added.

The design I did this weekend was based on an idea Carol got from another friend, which was a Greyhound phoenix – a Greyhound with flaming wings. We discussed it one evening while we were out for dinner. We settled on the idea of the Greyhound phoenix running in the sky over the Superstition Mountains (the mountains east of Phoenix, Arizona), and I did sketches of several different ideas on napkins. She took the napkins with her, and returned the one she wanted a week or two later. That was about a year ago. Bad me.

I did start working on it soon after I got the napkin back. I did a sketch, but then I hit a bit of “artist’s block.” I showed Carol what I’d done, and she liked it so far, but every time I tried to work on it after that, the block remained.

This week I decided to just sit down and get the darn thing finished. So, on Saturday morning I pulled out the sketch I’d started and tried to work on it, but the block was still there. Clearly, there was something wrong with… something. In a fit of desperation, I threw out the sketch I’d done and turned on my computer to see if creating it in Photoshop might clear up my artist’s block.

And, voila, it worked! After working all day Saturday (with a break for dinner) and well into Sunday morning – I got to bed around 3 a.m. – I finished a full-color design that was pretty close to the original sketch.

Here’s a small version of it (click to see a larger image):

I’m not 100% happy with it, but I think it’s enough for the tattoo artist to do something cool with. I gave it to Carol today and she liked it. She’s going to have it tattooed as a half sleeve. I can’t wait to see the finished tat.

I’ve got the original hi-res file so I can play with it some more in the future, tweak it, and maybe make cards or prints or T-shirts. Looking at it now, I think it would make a nice CD cover. Too bad I don’t know anyone with a band that sings about flying Greyhounds.  :-)

Anyway, that’s what I did this weekend. Hurray! I was able to check something off my to-do list.

 

28 Responses to “Greyhound Tattoos”

  1. I would pay for a t-shirt with this design on it! You should put it on CafePres or even Ebay!

  2. I really love the henna based design, I hope you don’t mind if I tweak it a little and use it! :-) I really love it. its beautiful, I just need to tweak it to be a little more suited to an Italian Greyhound and I am going to have it tattooed on my forearm as a tribute to my life saver, my constant companion and service dog – Luigi.

  3. Hands down, the best greyhound tattoo I’ve ever seen. Love it!!

  4. I agree with Heather’s post. I have been looking for a new piece of body artwork and would like to use this. I would like to add my Grey’s tattoo numbers to it. Thanks for a greyt piece of art!

    • The Greytheist Says:

      Feel free to use any of the tattoo artwork. Just make sure you send me pictures of the finished tattoo! :)

  5. Johannah Says:

    These are fantastic. I particularly love the Phoenix Greyhound. I am looking to have my first tattoo done and having been involved with greyhound rescue for a number of years, a greyhound would seem rather appropriate. These are by far amongst the best I have seen whilst researching for a design. I also agree with Lindas comment. The Phoenix Greyhound would make a fantstic tee shirt design, and is very different from anything I have ever seen in the UK

  6. greytngroovy Says:

    Hi, I just found the pictures of the wonderful greyhound armband you designed. I was looking for ideas to get my own “greyhound tattoo” done. I have two girls and I wanted them to feature in the tattoo but not like a 1:1 portrait. Your design is so lovely. I would so like to use it but I think it is more decent to ask first. Keep going, your artwork is greyt stuff!

    • The Greytheist Says:

      You’re welcome to use the artwork. If you click on the image in the post, you can access the full design. Please send me a picture of the finished tattoo; I’m putting together a collection of them for a future post.

  7. I have fallen in love with the greyhound tattoos! I’ve been wanting a tattoo for ages to honour my retired rescued racer Paco but this is the only one that’s caught my eye…it’s beautiful! Would you mind if I maybe used it too – and obviusly send you pictures if I get it done? Thanks, Anna

  8. The armband is absolutely gorgeous but considering my budget and the fact that I’ve never had a tattoo, looking for something small. There’s never been anything I would want permanently on my body, until I got this idea (in memory of my best bud, Chester, who I lost a few years ago.)
    The armband is so beautiful though…do you have any similar drawings on a lesser scale, or suggestions? Maybe just one grey from the armband.

  9. I adore the armband! I have a greyhound tattoo in mind but haven’t followed through yet. In the meantime I am always looking out to see what others have done, and yours is one of the best I’ve seen!

  10. Like others before I found this page when looking for inspiration for a Greyhound tattoo. I love your design and would also love to use it with your permission. Many thanks

  11. I’m glad I found this! My husband gave me a voucher for a tattoo for my birthday and I have to use it this weekend. I’ve been struggling with what to get. Thanks for giving permission to use it! I’ll be sure to send you a picture.

  12. Lesley Chiasson Says:

    Wow, I have been looking for a greyhound tattoo design for a little while also. Since having my girl, the greyhound has become a part of my heart. Thank you for the inspirational tattoo ideas.

  13. Alicia Says:

    Hi! I was looking for a greyhound tatto because one of my adopted greyhound was diagnosed with bones cancer. There is no treatment and no cure for her, we have one or two months before she dies. I want a tattoo for remembering and i saw your beautiful design. I wonder if i can use it as this tattoo, to keep my little Shiva in my skin. Thanks, and congratulation for your fantastic art. :)

    • The Greytheist Says:

      I’m sorry to hear about your grey. I’ve had a couple of them with the dreaded bone cancer. Give her a big hug from me and my hounds. Please feel free to use any of my greyhound tattoo designs. If possible, send me a photo of the finished tattoo. I love to see how the different tattoo artists interpret my designs.

  14. Veronica Says:

    Hi, I love permission to use your design as my Facebook wallpaper. May I?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.